UPDATED BENEFIT RATES FOR MISSOURI WORKERS COMPENSATION 2020

If you are injured at work on or after July 1, 2020 in Missouri, the compensation you receive for an on the job injury may increase.
The new maximum temporary total disability rate is $1,011.92 for workers compensation. That is the most that you can receive for weekly benefits or what is known as temporary total disability for an on the job injury. Temporary total disability is paid while you are off work.
That same rate applies for weekly death benefits assuming the worker was earning $1,517.87 in weekly wages or salary. Death benefits are paid to a workers’ dependents.
$1,011.92 is also the rate you will receive for life assuming you were earning $1,517.87 in weekly wages or salary and you are permanently totally disabled due to an on the job injury.
For those injuries in which you are partially disabled (you can do some work after your injury) due to your workers compensation accident, the new maximum rate is $530.05. That is the maximum rate to calculate your settlement.
If you need legal assistance with an on the job injury, please call Dean Law Office LLC 816-753-3100.
Free consultation in person or by phone.
No fee if no recovery.
Margaret E. Dean Attorney at Law. Licensed in Missouri and Kansas.
Best of the Bar.
Superlawyer.
AV rated.
The choice of an attorney should not be based on solely on advertisements.

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION PENALTIES: INCREASING OR DECREASING YOUR COMPENSATION.

Both Kansas and Missouri workers’ compensation systems have penalties relating to workplace safety.

The best news for employees is that in Missouri, viagra generic an employer’s violation of a safety statute increases compensation by 15%.  Chapter 292 of Missouri law sets forth the safety statutes.

A few of the provisions of Chapter 292 are: all equipment must be guarded;  hatchways, elevators and well holes must be guarded; on construction sites over two stories, stairways have to be lighted and handrails provided; on construction sites, all scaffolding, hoists, ladders or supports must be so erected and constructed as to offer protection.

The bad news in Missouri is: if an employee fails to use safety devices provided by an employer or fails to obey a reasonable rule adopted by the employer (assuming the employee has actual knowledge of the rule and the employer has made an effort to cause his or her employees to use the safety device or follow the safety rule) the compensation of the employee can be reduced 25% to 50%.

Buckle up, you can lose 50% of your compensation.

The Kansas rules on penalties are even stricter. There is no provision in Kansas workers’ compensation law to increase compensation if the employer violates a safety statute.

In Kansas, workers’ compensation benefits are denied for an employee’s reckless violation of safety rules or willful failure to use a safety guard or protection.

If you’ve been hurt on the job, contact Margaret E. Dean, Attorney at Law, 816-753-3100.

If you fall on the job, will it be covered under workers’ compensation?

In Missouri workers’ compensation, viagra usa search an individual would think that if they fell while on the job, his or her injury would be covered under workers’ compensation. This is not necessarily the case. Missouri law was changed in 2005, and the adverse results of the changes are not favorable to workers injured on the job.

The first case to address the 2005 changes as they related to a work accident was Miller v. Missouri Highway and Transportation Commission. Mr. Miller, a MODOT worker, was repairing a section of road. Mr. Miller was walking briskly on the job site when his knee popped. Mr. Miller was denied workers’ compensation.

In Johme v. St. John’s Mercy Care, Ms. Johme was turning to make coffee and her heel slipped off the back of her sandals. She fell, fracturing her hip. Ms. Johme was denied workers’ compensation.

In both the Miller case and the Johme case, the court, in denying workers’ compensation, stated that the risk involved was one to which the worker would have been equally exposed in non-employment life.

In cases where a worker has fallen and recovered after 2005, one can see a pattern. There is a emphasis on weather conditions, the type of footwear the employee is wearing, what the employee is doing at the time of the fall, and what the employee is carrying.

Before completing an accident report or giving a statement, an employee should think long and hard about what caused a fall. Was the risk, one to which he or she would be equally exposed in life outside the work place?

Margaret E. Dean can consult with you at no charge prior to the time you file an accident report or give a statement. If you have questions in these areas, Dean Law Office can assist you.

Call Margaret E. Dean, 816-753-3100.