Is Probate Necessary to Transfer Property at Death?

Probate is necessary unless the decedent (the deceased person) did not have any property that needs to be probated. If the decedent put property in a trust, set up joint accounts with right of survivorship, created pay-on-death (POD) or transfer-on-death (TOD) designations or named beneficiaries on life insurance or retirement accounts, there is no need for probate. Probate is only necessary when there is property solely in the decedent’s name without using one of the methods mentioned to avoid probate. If you have probate questions, call Margaret Dean at 816-753-3100.

2016

The start of a new year is always a good time to reflect on the past year and set goals for the new year. I would like to thank all my clients for a successful 2015. I had some great opportunities in 2015 to give back to the community. I took calls for the Ask-A-Lawyer phone program in the areas of probate and workers’ compensation. It was my last year of participation in the Association for Women Lawyers’ Connection program. It is a mentor-mentee program for attorneys which lasted five years. My mentees were a great group of women. I also participated in Step-Up. Step-Up is a program where outstanding warrants and traffic tickets of abused women are handled on a pro bono basis. Many of the women had failed to appear for minor traffic offenses and had warrants issued. With outstanding warrants, these women couldn’t obtain public housing and were fearful driving to and from work. The judges worked with these women, most of whom were low income, and in exchange for a plea they committed to do community service or attend a job readiness program.
I look forward to 2016 committed to my clients and to practice of law.

Update Kansas and Missouri Workers’ Compensation Rates

Every year, the Division of Workers’ Compensation in Missouri and Kansas update the maximum rate for weekly benefits (total temporary disability-TTD) and partial permanent disability-PPD.

The current maximum Kansas rate is $610.00 per week for both TTD and PPD.
The current maximum Missouri rate for TTD is $886.92.
The current maximum Missouri rate for PPD is $464.58.

In Missouri, you figure your TTD and PPD based on the 13 weeks worked before the accident.
In Kansas, you figure your TTD and PPD based on the 26 weeks before the accident.